MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Tuesday, 27 April 2021 (8:05 - 8:25 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Peter Chand (Chair)
Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Andrew Achilleos	Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah	Cllr Sanchia Alasia
Cllr Saima Ashraf	Cllr Abdul Aziz	Cllr Toni Bankole
Cllr Princess Bright	Cllr Sade Bright	Cllr Laila M. Butt
Cllr Evelyn Carpenter	Cllr Josie Channer	Cllr Faruk Choudhury
Cllr John Dulwich	Cllr Edna Fergus	Cllr Irma Freeborn
Cllr Cameron Geddes	Cllr Syed Ghani	Cllr Rocky Gill
Cllr Kashif Haroon	Cllr Jane Jones	Cllr Amardeep Singh Jamu
Cllr Eileen Keller	Cllr Mohammed Khan	Cllr Donna Lumsden
Cllr Olawale Martins	Cllr Mick McCarthy	Cllr Giasuddin Miah
Cllr Dave Miles	Cllr Margaret Mullane	Cllr Glenda Paddle
Cllr Simon Perry	Cllr Moin Quadri	Cllr Foyzur Rahman
Cllr Tony Ramsay	Cllr Chris Rice	Cllr Lynda Rice
Cllr Ingrid Robinson	Cllr Paul Robinson	Cllr Darren Rodwell
Cllr Emily Rodwell	Cllr Muhammad Saleem	Cllr Faraaz Shaukat
Cllr Dominic Twomey	Cllr Lee Waker	Cllr Phil Waker
Cllr Maureen Worby		

1. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

2. Minutes (30 September 2020)

The minutes of the meeting held on 30 September 2020 were confirmed as correct.

3. Appointment of Mayor 2021/22

The Chair asked for nominations for the appointment of Mayor for the 2021/22 municipal year.

Cllr Carpenter moved that Cllr Fergus be appointed as Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the forthcoming year 2021/22. The motion was seconded by Cllr Saleem.

There were no other nominations.

The Council **resolved** that Cllr Edna Fergus be appointed as Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the 2021/22 municipal year.

4. Appointment of Young Mayor 2021/22

The Chief Executive advised that the Barking and Dagenham (BAD) Youth Forum had appointed a new Young Mayor; Labella Anum, following its election process in February 2021.

The Leader of the Council conveyed the Council's appreciation to the outgoing Young Mayor, Jessica Soares Paim, for the able manner in which she discharged her duties during 2020/21.

The Council **noted** the appointed of Labella Anum as Young Mayor for 2021/22.